PSPF Release 2026 took effect on 1 July 2026 and made two changes to physical security: SCIFs were added to the Security Zones table, and Requirement 0199 now gives their accreditation to ASD. Every other physical requirement, dated 31 October 2024, carried over. The table and requirement numbers below come from the Release 2026 PDF.
The reading repeated most often is "Zone 4 = PROTECTED". The PSPF says something more useful. Its Table 22 lets PROTECTED technology assets sit in any zone from Two to Five, and trades the zone against the container: the higher the zone, the less the cabinet has to do. A data hall designer who knows that table has three workable options instead of one.
Three terms carry the rest. A Security Zone is a restricted access area defined by the PSPF; the PSPF writes the numbers as words, Zone One to Zone Five, while operators and search engines write Zone 1 to Zone 5. Certification confirms that a zone's controls are in place and working. Accreditation is the later decision to operate the zone, made when someone with authority accepts the residual risk. "SCEC zones" is common search language for the same thing; the Security Construction and Equipment Committee does not define the zones.
Why PSPF security zones matter
Security Zones are how the PSPF turns physical protection into areas a person can walk into or be kept out of. The framework's physical chapters start from five layers of physical security, deter, detect, delay, respond and recover (s 23.2), and then say facilities are designed "according to the five Security Zones, with increasing restrictions and access controls as the zones progress from Zone One to Zone Five". The zones exist mainly to protect security classified information (s 24.1), and entities must certify and accredit every area where that information will be used, transmitted, stored or discussed (s 24.2).
Data centres are not an afterthought in that scheme. Section 13.8 defines a technology asset storage facility and lists what it includes, and datacentres are on the list. Three requirements then decide where the equipment inside sits.
Technology asset storage facility
- Server and gateway rooms
- Datacentres
- Storage areas for equipment that holds, stores, processes or communicates official information
- Communication and patch rooms
PSPF s 13.8
- Req 0094SECRET and below
Stored in the Security Zone that matches the aggregated classification or business impact level.
- Req 0095TOP SECRET
In SCEC-endorsed racks or compartments inside an accredited Zone Five area.
- Req 0096Catastrophic impact, outsourced
An outsourced facility is certified by ASIO-T4 and accredited by ASD before it is used.
The rules reach further than the Commonwealth's own buildings. The PSPF binds Commonwealth entities, and it reaches a commercial operator through them. Requirement 0111 tells entities to host security classified information on cloud or data centre services certified under the Hosting Certification Framework, which the HCF guide covers. Requirement 0096 has outsourced facilities that house catastrophic-impact assets certified by ASIO-T4 and accredited by ASD before use. ASIO's Protective Security Circular 149, "Physical security certification of outsourced ICT facilities", sits on GovTEAMS and is not public. And ASD's Information Security Manual (ISM), the other document a data centre answers to, sends its readers back to the PSPF for certification authorities, zone requirements and the choice of zones and containers for IT equipment.
The physical domain is small enough to read in an afternoon. Release 2026 holds 22 physical requirements, numbered 0189 to 0210. All of them are dated 31 October 2024 except 0199, the SCIF requirement, dated 1 July 2026. A data centre that hosts government systems will be asked about most of them, usually by a customer's security adviser holding a copy of Table 40.
How PSPF security zones work, step by step
A zone has a life: it is chosen, built, certified, accredited, operated and recertified. Each stage has its own requirement number and its own decision-maker.
The five zones and who can enter each
Table 37 sets the restricted access rules and Table 38 adds the clearance each person needs for ongoing access. Read across a row and the zone's character is clear: Zone One is open to the public, Zone Two keeps the public on a restricted footing, Zone Three removes the public and escorts visitors, Zone Four adds the clearance requirement, and Zone Five adds dual-factor authentication and refuses temporary access except in Exceptional Circumstances.
- Zone OneZone 1Not specified
Who else can enter
The public, without restriction
Public area
Personnel and clearance
No clearance; employment screening is enough for entity personnel
Not specified - Zone TwoZone 2Single factor allowed
Who else can enter
The public, restricted
Entity office area
Personnel and clearance
Authorised personnel, unrestricted; clearance to the highest classification each person will access
Single factor allowed - Zone ThreeZone 3Single factor
Who else can enter
No public. Visitors only with a need-to-know and close escort
Entity restricted office area
Personnel and clearance
Authorised personnel, restricted; clearance to the highest classification each person will access
Single factor - Zone FourZone 4Single factor
Who else can enter
No public. Visitors only with a need-to-know and close escort
Entity restricted office area
Personnel and clearance
Authorised personnel holding the clearance for what is stored in the zone
Single factor - Zone FiveZone 5Dual factor
Who else can enter
No public. Visitors only with a need-to-know and close escort
Entity highly restricted office area
Personnel and clearance
Authorised personnel with the appropriate clearance; no temporary access except in Exceptional Circumstances
Dual factor - SCIFDual factor
Who else can enter
No public. Visitors only with a need-to-know and close escort
Sensitive Compartmented Information Facility
Personnel and clearance
PV or TS-PA clearance with compartment briefings, where TOP SECRET systems are present
Dual factor
Zones Two to Four allow temporary access below the usual clearance if the CSO, the CISO or their delegate approves the risk; in Zones Two and Three that extends to people with no clearance. Restrictions rise as the zones go from Zone One to Zone Five (s 23.2).
Two details catch operators out. Zones Three, Four and Five share the visitor rule, so an escorted visitor with a need-to-know is lawful in all three; what changes is the clearance and the authentication. And Zone Four is described as an "entity restricted office area", the same words as Zone Three. The difference is the clearance column: in Zone Four, authorised personnel hold the clearance for what is stored there.
Choosing the zone for a data hall
Requirement 0094 decides the zone: technology assets classified SECRET or below sit in the Security Zone that matches their aggregated classification or business impact level. The word that matters is aggregated. A rack of OFFICIAL: Sensitive systems can aggregate to a higher impact, and the zone follows the aggregate, not the label on any one system. TOP SECRET equipment has its own rule: SCEC-endorsed racks or compartments inside an accredited Zone Five area (Requirement 0095).
Table 22 then gives the container for each pairing of impact level and zone.
| Aggregated information and business impact | Security Zone | Security container |
|---|---|---|
| OFFICIALLow business impact | Zone Two | Lockable commercial cabinet |
| Zone One | Lockable commercial cabinet | |
| OFFICIAL: SensitiveLow to medium business impact | Zone Two | Lockable commercial cabinet |
| Zone One | SCEC Class C | |
| PROTECTEDHigh business impact | Zone Four and Five | Lockable commercial cabinet |
| Zone Three | SCEC Class C (recommended) | |
| Zone Two | SCEC Class C | |
| SECRETExtreme business impact | Zone Four | SCEC Class C |
| Zone Three | SCEC Class B | |
| TOP SECRETCatastrophic business impact | Zone Five | SCEC Class B |
OFFICIAL
Low business impact
- Zone TwoLockable commercial cabinet
- Zone OneLockable commercial cabinet
OFFICIAL: Sensitive
Low to medium business impact
- Zone TwoLockable commercial cabinet
- Zone OneSCEC Class C
PROTECTED
High business impact
- Zone Four and FiveLockable commercial cabinet
- Zone ThreeSCEC Class C (recommended)
- Zone TwoSCEC Class C
SECRET
Extreme business impact
- Zone FourSCEC Class C
- Zone ThreeSCEC Class B
TOP SECRET
Catastrophic business impact
- Zone FiveSCEC Class B
PROTECTED technology assets can sit in Zones Two to Five. The higher the zone, the less the cabinet has to do.
The PROTECTED rows are the ones most data centre conversations turn on. In Zone Two, PROTECTED equipment needs a SCEC Class C container; in Zone Three, Class C is recommended; in Zones Four and Five, a lockable commercial cabinet is enough. None of those rows is the "right" zone. The choice is a cost trade between building a higher zone and buying heavier containers, made in the entity's security risk assessment.
Table 23 adds layering. When the equipment room is its own Security Zone inside an existing one, the container requirement can drop. A PROTECTED data hall built as a Zone Three room inside a Zone Two floor can use lockable commercial cabinets, where the same equipment on the open Zone Two floor would need SCEC Class C. The ISM describes the same idea as three layers: a zone suited to the classification, an additional zone for the server or communications room, and security containers.
The ISM layer model
Layer 1
A security zone suited to the classification
Layer 2
An additional zone for the server or communications room
Layer 3
Security containers
The second number in each pair is the control for non-classified systems. For zone and container choices the ISM sends you back to the PSPF.
PSPF Table 23, PROTECTED rows
Zone Four or Five primary zone, no additional zone
Container: Lockable commercial cabinet
Zone Three primary zone, no additional zone
Container: SCEC Class C (recommended)
Zone Two primary zone, with a Zone Three or above room inside it
Container: Lockable commercial cabinet
Zone Two primary zone, with a Zone Two room inside it
Container: SCEC Class C
Building to the zone
The lifecycle requirements read in order. Protective security is built into planning, selecting, designing and modifying facilities (Requirement 0189). A facility security plan is required for new facilities, facilities under construction and major refurbishments (Requirement 0190), and site decisions use the Table 36 factors: neighbourhood, standoff perimeter, site access and parking, building access points, Security Zones and environmental risks (Requirement 0191). Table 36's building access factor includes emergency exits, air intakes and outlets and service ducts, which is where a data hall's plant usually breaches the zone line.
Construction follows the ASIO Technical Notes (Requirement 0193). Zones Two to Five that handle classified material are built to ASIO Technical Note 1/15 and Technical Note 5/12 (Requirement 0194). Those notes sit on GovTEAMS, so the people who design to them are the entity's security practitioners and the consultants who hold access. Once built, the facility is operated and maintained in line with the zone's controls (Requirement 0195).
Certification and accreditation
Certification comes first. Table 40 sets the certification authority control by control, zone by zone, and the pattern is worth learning because it decides who must sign what before go-live.
- The entity's CSO or delegate
- Someone outside the entity
Entity security risk assessment
Site security plan
Commercial alarm system
SCEC-approved Type 1A alarm system
Electronic access control system
Current software patches and no obsolete components required
Other zone requirements
Certification, including site inspection
Entity security risk assessment
- CSO or delegateZones One to Five
Site security plan
- CSO or delegateZones One to Five
Commercial alarm system
- Suitably qualified installer or designerZones One to Three
- Not applicableZones Four to Five
SCEC-approved Type 1A alarm system
- Not applicableZones One to Three
- SCEC-endorsed Security Zone consultantZones Four to Five
Electronic access control system
Current software patches and no obsolete components required
- Suitably qualified installer or designerZones One to Five
Other zone requirements
- CSO or delegateZones One to Five
Certification, including site inspection
- CSO or delegateZones One to Four
- ASIO-T4Zone Five
ASIO-T4 certifies the Zone Five areas that hold TOP SECRET or aggregated information with a catastrophic business impact (Req 0197). Zones One to Four are certified by the CSO or delegate (Req 0196).
The entity's Chief Security Officer (CSO), or a delegated security practitioner, signs the risk assessment, the site security plan and the zone requirements in every zone. Specialist parts are certified by people outside the entity: a suitably qualified installer or designer for a commercial alarm in Zones One to Three and for the electronic access control system in every zone, and a SCEC-endorsed Security Zone consultant for the SCEC-approved Type 1A alarm in Zones Four and Five. The access control line carries a condition operators often miss: current software patches and no obsolete components. The final certification, including a site inspection, is the CSO's for Zones One to Four and ASIO-T4's for Zone Five (Requirements 0196 and 0197).
Accreditation follows. Table 41 makes the CSO or delegate the accreditation authority for Zones One to Five once the controls are certified, and Requirement 0198 says each zone is accredited before operational use, on the basis that the controls are certified and the entity determines and accepts the residual risks. Approval runs for a specified time. SCIFs are the exception: ASD accredits them under the National SCIF Accreditation Program (Requirement 0199).
01 Build
Entity, to the ASIO Technical Notes
Zones Two to Five that hold classified information are built to ASIO TN 1/15 and TN 5/12.
Req 0193Req 019402 Certify
CSO or delegate; ASIO-T4 for Zone Five
The controls are in place and operating effectively, confirmed by site inspection.
Req 0196Req 019703 Accredit
CSO or delegate
The certifications are reviewed and the entity accepts the residual risk. Approval runs for a set time.
Req 019804 Operate
Entity
The facility is run and maintained to the zone's controls.
Req 019505 Recertify
Back to certify
Expiry, a new business impact level, a significant change, or a condition the accreditor set.
s 24.2.3
SCIF, new in Release 2026
A Sensitive Compartmented Information Facility is accredited by ASD under the National SCIF Accreditation Program before it is used, not by the CSO. Req 0199 · 1 July 2026
Where SCEC fits
The Security Construction and Equipment Committee is a standing inter-departmental committee whose schemes are managed by ASIO's T4 Protective Security. It has three jobs relevant to a zone, and defining the zone is not one of them.
Evaluates security equipment
- Rates products SL1 (lowest acceptable) to SL4 (high)
- Lists approved items in the SEEPL, on GovTEAMS
- ASIO-T4's Security Equipment Guides cover equipment SCEC has not tested
PSPF s 25.1
Endorses Security Zone Consultants
- Design, acceptance testing and commissioning of Type 1 and 1A alarm systems
- At least an NV1 clearance; endorsement renewed every five years
- Certifies the Type 1A alarm in Zones Four and Five
Table 40
Runs the locksmith and courier schemes
- Approved Locksmiths, recommended for locks in Zones 4 and 5
- Endorsed couriers
scec.gov.au
What SCEC does not do
SCEC does not define the zones; the PSPF and the ASIO Technical Notes do. In SCEC's words, the PSPF does not require an agency to engage a SCEC Security Zone Consultant to design and construct a zone, but one must be engaged to design, acceptance test or commission a Type 1/1A alarm system.
Equipment is where most data centres meet SCEC. Evaluated products are rated SL1, the lowest acceptable level for government use, to SL4, and approved items are listed in the Security Equipment Evaluated Product List on GovTEAMS. Commercial equipment that meets Australian and international standards may be used where the confidentiality impact is below medium, and ASIO-T4's Security Equipment Guides cover equipment SCEC has not tested (s 25.1). For alarms, Type 1A systems cover SECRET, TOP SECRET and certain codeword information, while commercial alarms are graded under AS/NZS 2201.1: Classes 1 and 2 for domestic use, Classes 3 and 4 for normal business, and Class 5 up to an extreme impact (s 25.6). Standards Australia lists the 2007 edition as Pending Revision; it is still the edition the PSPF cites.
What "ASIO-T4 certified" means
Operator marketing often says a facility is "ASIO-T4 certified". Under Release 2026 that phrase has two possible meanings. One is a Zone Five area holding TOP SECRET or catastrophic-impact aggregates, which ASIO-T4 certifies (Requirement 0197). The other is an outsourced facility housing technology assets with a catastrophic business impact, which ASIO-T4 certifies and ASD accredits before use (Requirement 0096). Neither covers Zone Four, which the CSO or delegate certifies. When a provider makes the claim, ask which area was certified, under which requirement, on what date, and who accredited it.
Recertification
Certification is time-limited, and the assessment is specific to the facility's role and contents at the time (s 24.2.3). Four kinds of event trigger recertification and reaccreditation: expiry with the passage of time; a change in the business impact level of what the zone holds; significant changes to the facility's architecture or its physical security controls; and any other condition the Accreditation Authority stipulated, such as a change in threat level.
The steps in order
- 01
Write the facility security plan
Required for new facilities, facilities under construction and major refurbishments, and informed by the Table 36 site selection factors.
Output: A facility security plan (Requirements 0190 and 0191)
- 02
Set the zone from the aggregated classification
Work out what the room will hold in aggregate, then read Table 22 and, if the room is its own zone inside another, Table 23.
Output: A zone and container decision in the security risk assessment (Requirement 0094)
- 03
Design and build to the ASIO Technical Notes
Zones Two to Five that handle classified material follow TN 1/15 and TN 5/12. Bring in a SCEC-endorsed consultant for any Type 1/1A alarm.
Output: As-built drawings and commissioning records (Requirements 0193 and 0194)
- 04
Certify the parts, then the zone
Installers and designers certify alarms and access control; the CSO or delegate, or ASIO-T4 for Zone Five, certifies the zone after a site inspection.
Output: Table 40 certificates and the zone certificate (Requirements 0196 and 0197)
- 05
Accredit before use
The accreditation authority reviews the certifications and accepts the residual risks. ASD accredits a SCIF.
Output: An accreditation decision with an expiry (Requirements 0198 and 0199)
- 06
Operate, maintain and watch for triggers
Run the zone to its controls, test and service alarms, keep access control patched, and recertify on any s 24.2.3 trigger.
Output: Maintenance records and a trigger log (Requirement 0195, section 24.2.3)
A worked example: a PROTECTED data hall in a Commonwealth entity's own building
Kingfisher Records Agency is a non-corporate Commonwealth entity in Canberra with about 600 staff. Its PROTECTED case management systems run from a communications room on level 2 that has outgrown its power and cooling. The name and the figures are fictional; the requirements are not.
The decision to build. In March 2026 the agency decided to fit out a data hall, L3-DH, on level 3 of its own building. The fit-out is a major refurbishment, so the security adviser wrote a facility security plan (Requirement 0190) and walked the Table 36 factors. The building access factor found the issue that shaped the design: the hall's cooling needed new air intakes and a service duct to the roof plant, both crossing the line any new zone would draw.
The zone. The hall would hold the case management systems, their backups and the records index, which aggregate to PROTECTED with a high business impact. Level 3 is a Zone Two office floor. Table 22 offered three paths: keep the equipment on a Zone Two footing in SCEC Class C containers, build the hall as Zone Three with Class C recommended, or build to Zone Four and use lockable commercial cabinets. Table 23 offered a fourth: a Zone Three room inside the Zone Two floor, with lockable commercial cabinets. The agency chose the fourth, because the racks it was buying were commercial cabinets and the walls had to be built either way.
Staff floor; restricted public access; ISM layer 1
No public access; escorted visitors with a need-to-know; ISM layer 2
Lockable commercial cabinets; ISM layer 3
- 1
Facility security plan written, because the fit-out is a major refurbishment
Req 0190
- 2
Zone chosen from the aggregated classification: PROTECTED, high impact
Req 0094
- 3
Zone Three room inside a Zone Two floor, so racks can be lockable commercial cabinets
Table 23
- 4
Commercial alarm and access control certified by a suitably qualified installer
Table 40
- 5
Zone certified by the CSO's delegate after a site inspection
Req 0196
- 6
Accredited by the CSO, who accepted the residual risks in writing
Req 0198
Building it. The hall was built to ASIO Technical Note 1/15 (Requirement 0194), with the duct and air intake penetrations treated in the same design. Zone Three needs no Type 1A alarm, so a commercial alarm system went in, graded under AS/NZS 2201.1, and the installer certified it and the electronic access control system. The installer's certificate confirmed current software patches and no obsolete components, as Table 40 requires.
Two signatures. The CSO's delegate inspected the hall on 14 August 2026 and certified the zone (Requirement 0196). The CSO accredited it on 21 August 2026 after reading the certifications and accepting two residual risks in writing: the shared lift lobby on level 3, and a six-week wait for a second alarm communication path (Requirement 0198). The hall went live on 1 September 2026.
The ISM view. The agency's PROTECTED systems now sit inside the ISM's three layers: the Zone Two floor as the first, the Zone Three hall as the additional zone for the server room (ISM-1053), and the cabinets as the third. The hall is never left unsecured (ISM-0813), and the screens on the operations console face away from the corridor glass so unauthorised people cannot observe them (ISM-0164).
The disaster recovery site. The agency's recovery environment runs at Ridgeline Data Centres, a commercial operator, so Requirement 0111 applies: the service is certified under the Hosting Certification Framework, and the agency bought the space through the Data Centre Facilities Supplies Panel (Requirement 0112). The HCF guide follows the same operator from its side.
What will trigger recertification. The accreditation sets the certificate's end date, and the security adviser keeps a log of the other triggers.
Trigger 1
Expiry with the passage of time
The certificate's own end date, set in the accreditation record and diarised a quarter ahead.
Trigger 2
A change in the business impact level
A SECRET system proposed for the hall in 2027. Table 23 has no SECRET row for a Zone Two primary zone, so the design changes first.
Trigger 3
Significant change to the architecture or the controls
The access control head-end reaches end of support. Table 40 allows no obsolete components, so it is replaced and the zone recertified.
Trigger 4
A condition the Accreditation Authority set
The CSO asked for a review if the threat level for the Canberra site changes.
The second trigger is the instructive one. A SECRET system would change the business impact level, and Table 23 has no SECRET row for a Zone Two primary zone. The answer would be a redesign before the system arrives, not a new cabinet.
Common mistakes
Most errors come from operator shorthand and from reading Release 2025 after it was replaced. Here are six readings against the text.
The common reading
What the PSPF says
1Zone 4 means PROTECTED.
Table 22 allows PROTECTED technology assets in Zones Two to Five, with the container rising as the zone falls.
Table 22
ASIO-T4 certifies Zone Four.
The CSO or delegate certifies Zones One to Four. ASIO-T4 certifies Zone Five areas holding TOP SECRET or catastrophic aggregates.
Req 0196, 0197
SCEC sets the zones.
The zones come from the PSPF and the ASIO Technical Notes. SCEC evaluates equipment and endorses consultants.
s 25.1; scec.gov.au
A SCEC consultant has to design the zone.
Only Type 1/1A alarm design, acceptance testing and commissioning need one.
scec.gov.au
Certified once, certified for good.
Certification is time-limited and four kinds of event trigger recertification.
s 24.2.3
Release 2025 is the current PSPF.
Release 2026 replaced it on 1 July 2026 and added the SCIF requirement.
Req 0199
The common reading
Zone 4 means PROTECTED.
Table 22 allows PROTECTED technology assets in Zones Two to Five, with the container rising as the zone falls.
Table 22
The common reading
ASIO-T4 certifies Zone Four.
The CSO or delegate certifies Zones One to Four. ASIO-T4 certifies Zone Five areas holding TOP SECRET or catastrophic aggregates.
Req 0196, 0197
The common reading
SCEC sets the zones.
The zones come from the PSPF and the ASIO Technical Notes. SCEC evaluates equipment and endorses consultants.
s 25.1; scec.gov.au
The common reading
A SCEC consultant has to design the zone.
Only Type 1/1A alarm design, acceptance testing and commissioning need one.
scec.gov.au
The common reading
Certified once, certified for good.
Certification is time-limited and four kinds of event trigger recertification.
s 24.2.3
The common reading
Release 2025 is the current PSPF.
Release 2026 replaced it on 1 July 2026 and added the SCIF requirement.
Req 0199
- Treating "Zone 4 = PROTECTED" as the rule. Table 22 permits PROTECTED in Zones Two to Five and trades zone against container. Decide the pairing in the security risk assessment, then build it.
- Saying ASIO-T4 certifies Zone Four. The CSO or delegate certifies Zones One to Four (Requirement 0196). ASIO-T4 certifies Zone Five areas holding TOP SECRET or catastrophic aggregates and catastrophic-impact outsourced facilities (Requirements 0197 and 0096).
- Writing "SCEC zones" as though SCEC sets them. Use the phrase to be found, then cite the PSPF and the ASIO Technical Notes for the rule.
- Assuming a SCEC-endorsed consultant must design every zone. One is required for Type 1/1A alarm design, acceptance testing and commissioning, and certifies the Type 1A alarm in Zones Four and Five. Zone design and construction does not need one.
- Reading the label instead of the aggregate. Requirement 0094 asks for the aggregated classification or business impact level. Add up what the room holds, including backups, before choosing the zone.
- Letting access control age out. Table 40 requires current software patches and no obsolete components in the electronic access control system, and a significant change to controls triggers recertification. Track the head-end's support dates like any other system's.
- Treating certification as permanent. It is time-limited (s 24.2.3). Log the triggers and diarise the expiry.
- Quoting Release 2025. Release 2026 superseded it on 1 July 2026 and added Requirement 0199 for SCIFs.
PSPF security zones compared with their neighbours
Most confusion about zones disappears when each nearby term is sorted by what it is: a rule for an area, a rule for equipment, a certifier, or a different regime.
| Term | What it is | Reach for it when |
|---|---|---|
| PSPF Security Zones | Five restricted access areas, Zone One to Zone Five, defined in PSPF Release 2026 Tables 37 and 38, certified and accredited before use. | You hold or host security classified information for a Commonwealth entity and need to know what the room must be. |
| SCIF | A Sensitive Compartmented Information Facility for TOP SECRET systems and sensitive compartmented information, accredited by ASD (Requirement 0199). | Codeword material or TOP SECRET systems are involved. The facility is accredited under ASD's program, not by the CSO. |
| ISM physical security layers | ASD's three layers: a zone suited to the classification (ISM-0810), an additional zone for the server room (ISM-1053), and security containers (ISM-1530). | You are writing a system security plan or preparing for an IRAP assessment. The ISM points back to the PSPF for zone rules. |
| SCEC | The committee that evaluates security equipment, endorses Security Zone Consultants and runs the locksmith and courier schemes. | You are choosing containers, locks or a Type 1/1A alarm, or need a consultant for alarm design and commissioning. |
| ASIO-T4 certification | Certification by ASIO's protective security area, for Zone Five areas holding TOP SECRET or catastrophic aggregates and for catastrophic-impact outsourced facilities. | A provider claims it, or your assets carry a catastrophic business impact (Requirements 0096 and 0197). |
| Hosting Certification Framework | Home Affairs' certification of data centre and cloud providers on ownership, control and supply chain, which Requirement 0111 asks entities to use. | You are a commercial operator hosting classified government systems, or an entity buying from one. |
| CIRMP section 11 | The SOCI rule that a critical infrastructure asset's risk management program identifies physical critical components, controls access and tests the arrangements. | Your data centre is a critical infrastructure asset under the SOCI Act, whether or not it hosts government data. |
The SOCI physical security post covers the last row, and the audit checklist maps all of these onto one walk from site to rack.
Standards and references
PSPF Release 2026, issued 1 July 2026. Read s 13.8 and Tables 22 and 23 for technology asset storage, s 15.2 for hosting, chapter 23 for the lifecycle requirements and Tables 36 and 37, chapter 24 for Tables 38, 40 and 41 and recertification, and chapter 25 for SCEC equipment and alarms. Release 2025 is superseded and still sits in the publications library.
PSPF Release 2026 Summary of Changes. Confirms the two physical-domain changes: SCIF content in Table 38 and the new Requirement 0199.
ASIO Technical Notes 1/15, 5/15 and Annex A of 5/12, ASD's SCIF Accreditation Standards and ASIO Protective Security Circular 149. The construction and certification detail behind the zones, all on GovTEAMS. The PSPF cites TN 5/12 in Requirement 0194 and TN 5/15 in its related standards for TOP SECRET areas.
ISM September 2026, Guidelines for physical security. Two sections, "Facilities and systems" and "IT equipment and media", with the three-layer model and controls such as ISM-0813, ISM-1074, ISM-1296, ISM-0164 and ISM-0161. The ISM is not legally binding unless legislation or a direction requires it.
SCEC. The Security Zone Consultant, Approved Locksmith and endorsed courier schemes, the consultant briefing, and the rule on when a consultant must be engaged.
AS/NZS 2201.1:2007, Intruder alarm systems. The grading the PSPF uses for commercial alarms, listed by Standards Australia as Pending Revision. The PSPF also names AS 1725.1 for chain-link security fencing, AS 3016 for electric security fences and AS 3809 for safes.
How Alvor helps
With Alvor, an entity or an operator keeps the record behind a zone in one place, so the certifier and the accreditor read the same evidence.
You can add any framework in Alvor. The PSPF's physical requirements go into Compliance through the framework builder in their own wording and numbering, with owners and evidence against each requirement, and the ISM can be built the same way in ASD's structure. ISO 27001:2022 installs from the framework library, with its 14 physical controls among the 93 in Annex A. A crosswalk maps controls between installed frameworks, so the evidence behind a PSPF requirement is the evidence behind its ISO 27001 counterpart, and each framework is still assessed on its own wording. Evidence is uploaded or linked once, carries a valid-until date, and is reused across the controls it supports, which suits alarm service records and installer certificates that expire.
Accreditation turns on accepted residual risk, and Risk Management is where that acceptance lives. Each risk is scored on likelihood and impact against criteria you set, and an accepted risk carries its conditions, scope and expiry, like the lift lobby and the alarm path Kingfisher's CSO accepted. Asset Management records each asset's dependencies and its end-of-life and end-of-support dates, so an access control head-end approaching end of support shows up before it becomes an obsolete component under Table 40. Each asset's data record holds its classification. History is hash-chained, so the dates on certifications and reviews stand up later.
Alvor runs as a dedicated single-tenant instance in the Sydney region (ap-southeast-2), on your own servers, or air-gapped. The AI Assistant is bring-your-own-model, including self-hosted models, and a person accepts or rejects every change it proposes.
For the facility itself, Alvor Advisory's data centre physical security work assesses the facility against the PSPF, the ISM, SOCI and customers' audits, designs the boundaries and zone layout with the Commonwealth entity, and prepares the evidence. Where construction must follow the ASIO Technical Notes, we design with the SCEC-endorsed consultant or adviser who works from them. Certification stays with the authority the PSPF names.